John Mills Commemorative Lecture in Correctional Medicine

Dr. John Mills has a long and distinguished career of service to his country, medical education, his profession and our college. He served as a helicopter pilot in Vietnam and is a 1979 Graduate of the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. His MPH is from the University of Michigan and also holds an MS in Anatomy from Michigan State University. He completed a residency in Aerospace Medicine in 1983, and currently serves as an Associate Professor of Community Medicine at University of North Texas Health Sciences Center. He maintains board certification in Preventive Medicine and Aerospace Medicine.

Dr. John Mills is a founding member of our college and has been a loyal and contributing member throughout its existence. His involvement has included service as division chair of aerospace medicine, residency inspector, chair of the education evaluation committee, trustee, and was the College President in 1993. He has been recognized as a fellow in the college (1986) and a distinguished fellow (2013) and has also served on the American Osteopathic Board of Preventive Medicine and as a member of the AOA Postdoctoral Training and Review Committee.

Dr. Mills worked tirelessly on the Graduate Medical Education Program Standards for Fellowship Training in Correctional Medicine. He wrote many test questions for the certifying exam and was recognized as the “Founder of Correctional Medicine” by the College in 2014. He has traveled extensively meeting with other correctional medicine physician provider groups and regulators to raise awareness of our efforts to provide an educational home for correctional medicine professionals. He epitomizes the word “ambassador”.

In 2014, AOCOPM honored Dr. Mills by beginning the John Mills Commemorative Lecture in Correctional Medicine. This is a named lecture given at the Spring convention of the American Osteopathic College of Occupational & Preventive Medicine by someone who exemplifies service in the practice of Correctional Medicine.

Past Recipients Include:

2016  Correctional Medicine Statistics and Policy Update, John Mills, DO, MS, MPH, FAOCOPM

2017  Correctional Medicine, Keith Proctor, DO, MSPH

2018  Correctional Medicine Update, Raymond Osbourn, MD

2019  Chronic Pain Considerations & Hepatitis C Workups in the Correctional Medicine Setting, Philip Eskew, DO, JD, MBA

2021  Correctional Medicine and Population Health, Philip Eskew, DO, JD, MBA

2023  Correctional Medicine Reducing Recidivism by Treating Addiction, Philip Eskew, DO, JD, MBA